Stewards of Heritage Preservation Awards

Blackwater Pyrates

The Stewards of Heritage Award is presented to individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to aid archaeological preservation, further research, educate or otherwise promote public awareness of Florida archaeology. Awards are presented every other year.

Nomination Guidelines

2012Martha Cade

Martha Cade
Florida Museum of Natural History volunteer

Casey Coy and Mike Terrell
Florida Aquarium dive team

Blackwater Pyrates
Milton, FL


Natural Bridge Battlefield Historic State Park Citizen Support Organization

Peter Krulder
State Park Manager, Honeymoon Island State Park


Marty Ardren
Trail of Florida’s Indian Heritage

George “Boots” Boyer
Lake Okeechobee Survey


Jeb and Columba Bush
Mission San Luis

Dot Moore
New Smyrna


Charles DuToit
Tomoka Basin State Park

Thomas G. Vickery
Florida Museum of Natural History volunteer


Keith Thompson
Weedon Island Preserve

John Fraser
Fountain of Youth Archaeological Site

Steve W. Martin
Florida Anthropological Society

Carole Pope
Windover Pond Archaeological Site

Jim Swann
Windover Pond Archaeological Site


W. Miley
Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve

J. Shafer
Gulfstream Natural Gas System Pipeline project

L. J. Young
Collier County Historical & Archaeological Preservation Board

A. Penelas, M. Steirheim, K. Sorensen, T. Goldstein, T. Logue
Miami Circle project

Anderson Family


Michael Gannon
Lifetime Achievement

The Harold Anderson Family
Anderson/Narvaez site

Garfield Beckstead
Useppa Island

Robert Daniels
Aucilla Wildlife Management Area

Michael Drummond
Alachua County Cultural Resources

Kenneth Scott
Archaeology publications, University Press of Florida


C. L. Irwin
Florida Department of Transportation

R. Rester
Florida Park Service, Guana Tract

G. Beardslee, M. Mohseni, J. Roeller, J. Rowes, and F. Piccolo
Yatkitischee project


P. Anthony
Tatham Mound

D. and P. Randell
Pineland site

F. and B. Usina
North Beach site


E. Goza
Lifetime achievement

(U.S. Congressman) C. Bennett
Timucuan Ecological & Historical Preserve

(State Rep.) K. Arnold
Year of the Indian project

K. Holland and L. Manley
Maple Leaf site

N. Long and W. Palmer
Paddock Park Archaeological Education project

S. McMillan and W. T. Neal Trust
Apalachicola Archaeological project


D. Allen, C. Allen, C. Mitchell
DeSoto Apalachee site

F. and E. Bilek
Mission San Pedro y Pablo de Patale

G. Dorion and D. Dorion
Mission Santa Catalina de Guale

J. Eckerd and J. Swann
Windover site

(Senator) B. Johnson
Warm Mineral Springs site

Lykes Brothers Family
Fort Center site

R. Rogers
Arvida's Weston development