Stewards of Heritage Preservation Awards

Harry Koran and Ken Pachulski

The Stewards of Heritage Award is presented to individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to aid archaeological preservation, further research, educate or otherwise promote public awareness of Florida archaeology. Awards are presented every other year.

Nomination Guidelines

2018 Nominations are due February 1, 2018.

Lonnie Mann
In recognition of his long support of archaeology in the Tallahassee area and his advocacy for state legislation to protect archaeological sites.

Joshua Frank
In recognition of reporting the discovery of human remains at the Manasota Key Offshore site


Laura Kammerer
In recognition of Lauraís long-term preservation efforts for the people of Florida, and her decades of public service for both the improvement of cultural resource management and public archaeology.

Janet Cornelius
In recognition her volunteerism as she has aided the preservation of Florida's cultural heritage through her many years of work for the Florida Museum of Natural History and her involvement with the larger archaeological community.

Harry Koran and Ken Pachulski
In recognition of their long-term preservation efforts for the people of Florida, and their service in assisting Weedon Island in the recovery, excavation, and preservation of the Shoreline Canoe.

City of St. Augustine
In recognition of their continuing efforts in preserving and promoting archaeological resources and public service for both the improvement of cultural resource management and public archaeology. The City Commissionís efforts this year to pass a resolution against the proposed citizenís archaeology permit program, HB803 and SB1054 were unprecedented actions aiding to assist Florida Archaeology statewide.

In recognition of Cardnoís long time support of the Stewards of Heritage Awards, sponsorship of the Tribal Historic Preservation Officer Symposium, and promoting the rich heritage of Florida for the people of Florida generations to come.


National Guard Family Foundation
Recognition long-term preservation efforts and care of graves of our honored veterans by cleaning up and restoration of the heavily damaged African-American cemetery in St. Augustine.

Southwest Florida Water Management District
Recognition of long-term preservation efforts to the restoration of the Chassahowitzka Headspring in Citrus County, Florida

West Coast Inland Navigation District
Recognition of long-term preservation efforts and 20-year initiative to stabilize the Snake Island Site for continued recreational use and protection and maintenance of the sites along the Intracoastal Waterway.


Martha Cade

Martha Cade
Florida Museum of Natural History volunteer

Casey Coy and Mike Terrell
Florida Aquarium dive team

Blackwater Pyrates
Milton, FL


Natural Bridge Battlefield Historic State Park Citizen Support Organization

Peter Krulder
State Park Manager, Honeymoon Island State Park


Marty Ardren
Trail of Florida’s Indian Heritage

George “Boots” Boyer
Lake Okeechobee Survey


Jeb and Columba Bush
Mission San Luis

Dot Moore
New Smyrna


Charles DuToit
Tomoka Basin State Park

Thomas G. Vickery
Florida Museum of Natural History volunteer


Keith Thompson
Weedon Island Preserve

John Fraser
Fountain of Youth Archaeological Site

Steve W. Martin
Florida Anthropological Society

Carole Pope
Windover Pond Archaeological Site

Jim Swann
Windover Pond Archaeological Site


W. Miley
Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve

J. Shafer
Gulfstream Natural Gas System Pipeline project

L. J. Young
Collier County Historical & Archaeological Preservation Board

A. Penelas, M. Steirheim, K. Sorensen, T. Goldstein, T. Logue
Miami Circle project

Anderson Family


Michael Gannon
Lifetime Achievement

The Harold Anderson Family
Anderson/Narvaez site

Garfield Beckstead
Useppa Island

Robert Daniels
Aucilla Wildlife Management Area

Michael Drummond
Alachua County Cultural Resources

Kenneth Scott
Archaeology publications, University Press of Florida


C. L. Irwin
Florida Department of Transportation

R. Rester
Florida Park Service, Guana Tract

G. Beardslee, M. Mohseni, J. Roeller, J. Rowes, and F. Piccolo
Yatkitischee project


P. Anthony
Tatham Mound

D. and P. Randell
Pineland site

F. and B. Usina
North Beach site


E. Goza
Lifetime achievement

(U.S. Congressman) C. Bennett
Timucuan Ecological & Historical Preserve

(State Rep.) K. Arnold
Year of the Indian project

K. Holland and L. Manley
Maple Leaf site

N. Long and W. Palmer
Paddock Park Archaeological Education project

S. McMillan and W. T. Neal Trust
Apalachicola Archaeological project


D. Allen, C. Allen, C. Mitchell
DeSoto Apalachee site

F. and E. Bilek
Mission San Pedro y Pablo de Patale

G. Dorion and D. Dorion
Mission Santa Catalina de Guale

J. Eckerd and J. Swann
Windover site

(Senator) B. Johnson
Warm Mineral Springs site

Lykes Brothers Family
Fort Center site

R. Rogers
Arvida's Weston development